Who Won the 1999
Alaskan Iditarod

Doug Swingley (Stormy Cola and Elmer)

9 days 14:31:07

1998 Alaskan Iditarod Winner
2000  Winner

1999 Alaskan Iditarod Videos

1999 Alaskan Iditarod Photos

Doug Swingley News

1999 Alaskan Iditarod Winner Doug Swingley News

Montana musher Jessie Royer made history in Iditarod

The Missoulian
In 1993, she finished third in her first race, a 130-miler in Ashton, Idaho, with dogs purchased from Iditarod legend Doug Swingley of Lincoln, a four-time winner and first non-Alaskan champion. A year later, at age 17, Royer became the first and ...

1999 Alaskan Iditarod Winner Doug Swingley News

Breaking Trail at the Iditarod, Alaska's 1000-Mile Dog Sled Race

The race has seen one five-time champion (Rick Swenson) and a handful of four-time champs (Jeff King, Dallas Seavey, Martin Buser, Doug Swingley, and Susan Butcher). The trail is now established, kept open, and groomed by an army of volunteers.

1999 Alaskan Iditarod Winner Doug Swingley News

Did you know? Fun facts about the Iditarod

Fairbanks Daily News-Miner
Susan Butcher, Martin Buser, Doug Swingley, Jeff King and Lance Mackey have each won four Iditarods. Mackey is the only musher to have won four consecutive races. Butcher and Swingley have each won three consecutive races. • Five Iditarod champions ...

1999 Alaskan Iditarod Winner Doug Swingley News

83-mile Flathead Classic sled dog races this weekend

Daily Inter Lake
MONTANA HAS a proud sled-dog racing tradition, boasting the first non-Alaskan (Doug Swingley) to ever win the sport's most famous race, the 1,000-plus mile Iditarod, and hosting the Race to the Sky, one of the more prestigious races in the Lower 48 states.

Doug Swingley Tweets

5 stars - based on 375 reviews